The National Library Foundation Board (formerly the Development Council) was established to assist the Library with philanthropic support and corporate partnerships for the purposes of conservation and digitisation, broadening access to the Library's collections, exhibitions and public programs. The current Chair of the Foundation Board is Kevin McCann AM. At present, the National Library Foundation Board members are:

Portrait of Kevin McCannKevin McCann AM

Mr McCann is Chairman of Macquarie Group Ltd. and Macquarie Bank Ltd. and a member of the Australian Treasury Advisory Committee. He is a former member of the National Library Council and current Chair of the National Library Foundation Board.

Martin Ferguson AM MP

Mr Ferguson is Group Executive - Natural Resources for Seven Group Holdings. During his time in federal Parliament he was the Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism and the member for Batman, Victoria. He is a former member of the National Library of Australia Council.

Simon Moore

Mr Moore is a Managing Director of private equity firm The Carlyle Group. Prior to joining Carlyle, he was a Managing Director and Investment Committee Member of Investcorp International, Inc. based in New York. Mr Moore has worked in private equity investments and investment banking at J.P. Morgan & Co. in New York, Hong Kong and Melbourne.

Doug Snedden

Mr Snedden has more than 30 years' experience in finance, consulting, strategic management and outsourcing, and is former Country Managing Director of Accenture. He serves on a number of philanthropic boards, including Accenture Australia Foundation, Black Dog Institute and is Chairman of Odyssey House NSW.

Portrait of Deborah ThomasDeborah Thomas

Ms Thomas is Director of Media, Public Affairs and Brand Development at Bauer Media Group (formerly ACP Magazines) and is Deputy Chair of the National Library Council.

National Library representatives:

  • Dr Marie-Louise Ayres, Director-General
  • Cathy Pilgrim, Assistant Director-General, Executive and Public Programs
  • Kathryn Favelle, Director, Community Outreach Branch