Love & Desire: Literature and the intimate


Carmel Bird

Carmel Bird has written eight novels and five collections of short fiction. Her most recent books are the novel Cape Grimm and the collection The Essential Bird. Her manuals for writers are Dear Writer and Not Now Jack—I'm Writing a Novel, and she is preparing a guide to writing memoir. She has edited several anthologies including The Penguin Century of Australian Stories and The Stolen Children, Their Stories.

David Brooks

Since his debut collection of short stories, The Book of Sei, was published in 1985, David Brooks has published two further collections of short fiction and the critically-acclaimed first novel The House of Balthus. His poetry, like his fiction, has been translated into numerous languages. His 2005 collection, Walking to Point Clear, has been shortlisted in the Victorian and South Australian literary awards. He teaches Australian Literature at the University of Sydney, and is co-editor of Southerly.

Brian Castro

Brian Castro was born in Hong Kong of Portuguese, Chinese and English parentage and has lived in Australia since 1961. He is the author of eight novels, including the award-winning Shanghai Dancing. He has also published a volume of essays. His latest novel is The Garden Book.

Lucy Dougan

Lucy Dougan’s first book, Memory Shell, won the Dame Mary Gilmore Award in 2000. In 2003 she received a Developing Writers Grant from the Australia Council, which enabled her to work on a second collection of poems. Since the early 1990s her work has appeared in a number of journals and anthologies, including Best Australian Poems 2004. She is currently studying at the University of Western Australia and is poetry editor of HEAT magazine.

Helen Ennis

Helen Ennis is an independent photography curator and writer. Her publications include Intersections: Photography, History and the National Library of Australia and Margaret Michaelis: Love, Loss and Photography. She is currently curating an exhibition, Facing Death, for the National Portrait Gallery. Helen is a Senior Lecturer at the Australian National University School of Art.

Beverley Farmer

Beverley Farmer is the author of Alone, Milk, Home Time, Place of Birth, A Body of Water, The Seal Woman, The House in the Light, Collected Stories and The Bone House. Perceptions of displacement and estrangement underlie all her work. She lives in Point Lonsdale, Victoria, and has a son.

Fiona Giles

Fiona Giles is a Lecturer in Media and Comunications at Sydney University. She is the author and editor of six books of non-fiction about gender, romance and the body, including the best-selling collection, Dick for a Day, and most recently Fresh Milk: The Secret Life of Breasts. Fiona is currently researching media representations of breastfeeding and the ways in which these reveal cultural anxieties about maternal sexuality.

Marion Halligan

Marion Halligan has published eight novels, including Lovers’ Knots, The Golden Dress, The Fog Garden and The Point, collections of short stories, books of autobiography, travel and food, and a children’s book. The Taste of Memory: An Autobiography in Food and Gardens, was published in 2004. Her most recent novel is The Apricot Colonel, a murder mystery set in Canberra. She has been short-listed for most of the prizes on offer, and has won some.

Gail Jones

Gail Jones teaches film and literature in the Department of English, Communications and Cultural Studies at the University of Western Australia. She is the author of two books of short stories and three novels, Black Mirror, Sixty Lights and Dreams of Speaking.

Michael McGirr

Michael McGirr is the author of an offbeat biography of the Hume Highway called Bypass as well as a travel comedy, Things You Get For Free. He is a weekly book reviewer for the Sydney Morning Herald, a regular guest on ABC Canberra and a columnist for OnLine Catholics. He is currently writing a history of sleep. He lives with his wife and three little children in Gunning, a small town on the southern tablelands of NSW.

David Malouf

David Malouf is the author of poems, novels, librettos, plays and essays. Including A Spirit of Play, the Boyer Lectures for 1998. A new collection of stories, Every Move You Make, will be published in October. Translated into more than 20 languages, he has won many prizes: The Miles Franklin, The Commonwealth Prize, the Prix Femina Etranger, the Los Angeles Times Fiction Prize, the inaugural IMPAC Dublin International Award. In 2000 he was the sixteenth Neustadt Laureat. He lives in Sydney.

Dorothy Porter

Dorothy Porter is best known for her four verse novels, two of which—What a Piece of Work and Wild Surmise—have been nominated for the Miles Franklin Award. Wild Surmise won the 2004 Adelaide Festival Premier’s Award. The Monkey’s Mask has been adapted for stage, radio and film.

Leigh Redhead

Leigh Redhead has worked on a prawn trawler, as a masseuse, stripper and apprentice chef. She is the author of Peepshow and Rubdown, featuring stripper/private eye Simone Kirsch. Leigh lives in Brisbane where she is completing the third book in the series and a Masters in Creative Writing at University of Queensland.

Francesca Rendle-Short

Francesca Rendle-Short writes creative non-fiction and fiction. She is the author of Imago (1997 ACT Book of the Year) and Big Sister and in 2005 co-wrote a short play called Us. Her current paperchase is about growing up in Queensland in the 1970s.

Deborah Robertson

Deborah Robertson’s first book, Proudflesh, won the 1998 Steele Rudd Award for the best Australian short story collection, and her stories have been published widely. Her debut novel, Careless, was published earlier this year. She teaches writing at Murdoch University and lives in the port of Fremantle.

Peter Rose

Peter Rose has combined a career as a publisher, editor and writer. In 2001 he published his first work of non-fiction, Rose Boys, which won the National Biography Award. Last year he published Rattus Rattus: New and Selected Poems and his first novel, A Case of Knives. He is currently the Editor of Australian Book Review, and divides his time between Adelaide and Melbourne.

Rosie Scott

Rosie Scott is a writer and activist. Her latest novel Faith Singer was included in a list of ‘50 Essential Reads by Living Writers’ in an international survey sponsored by the Guardian newspaper, Orange Prize and Hay Writers’ Festival.

Hse-Ming Teo

Hsu-Ming Teo teaches in the Department of Modern History, Macquarie University and is working on a book on the culture of romantic love in Australia. In 1999 she won The Australian/Vogel Literary Award for her first novel Love and Vertigo. Her second novel, Behind the Moon, was published in 2005.

Brenda Walker

Brenda Walker is the author of the novels Crush, One More River, Poe’s Cat and The Wing of Night. She is also a critic, editor and essayist and her short fiction has been widely anthologised and published locally and internationally. She teaches at The University of Western Australia.

Charlotte Wood

Charlotte Wood’s novels have been shortlisted for various prizes, including the 2005 Miles Franklin Literary Award and the 2005 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, South East Asia/South Pacific region. Her books are The Submerged Cathedral and Pieces of a Girl, and she’s nearing completion of a third novel.


Back to the top