User Groups

 

User Groups (also known as ‘LAUGs’) are groups of Libraries Australia users who attend meetings to share workflow advice and discuss issues about Libraries Australia and other issues which impact on the library community.

There are User Groups in every state and territory, some of which have sub-groups (or ‘special interest groups’) for cataloguing and/or document delivery.

The User Group meetings are fantastic opportunities for members across all library sectors to meet, both formally and informally, and are especially worthwhile for those who work in very small organisations.

Find out about the User Group/s (i.e. convenors, secretaries and meeting information) in your state or territory by clicking on the relevant link: ACT - NSW - NT - QLD - SA - TAS - VIC - WA

ACT User Groups

General User Group (ACT LAUG)

Jenny Wood (Convenor)

Library System Manager, AIATSIS Library

Email: Jenny.Wood@aiatsis.gov.au

Beverley Richards (Secretary)

Systems Librarian, DEEWR Library

Email: beverley.richards@deewr.gov.au

2015 meetings:

  • Wednesday 18 February  2015

Time: 9:30 – 11 am

Venue: Meeting Room 1, 4th Floor, National Library of Australia

  • Wednesday 20 May 2015

Time: 9:30 – 11 am

Venue: Meeting Room 1, 4th Floor, National Library of Australia

  • Wednesday 19 August 2015

Time: 9:30 – 11 am

Venue: Meeting Room 1, 4th Floor, National Library of Australia

  • Wednesday 18 November 2015

Time: 9:30 – 11 am

Venue: Museum of Australian Democracy

 

LADD Special Interest Group

Hayward Maberley (Convenor)

Collection Services, Academy Library, UNSW Canberra Campus

Phone: (02) 6268 6158

Email: h.maberley@adfa.edu.au

2015 meetings:

  • TBC

 

NSW User Groups

General User Group (NSW LAUG, including Cataloguing Special Interest Group CATSIG)

Robert Deininger (Convenor)

Data Quality & Training Specialist Librarian

Data Quality, Systems & Standards, Library Services, State Library of NSW

Phone: (02) 9273 1695

Email: robert.deininger@sl.nsw.gov.au

Rosie Olk (Secretary)

CAD Mixed Formats Team, Library Services, State Library of New South Wales.

Phone: (02) 9273 1739

Email: rosemarie.olk@sl.nsw.gov.au

2015 meetings:

  • Friday 20 March 2015

Time: 10:30 am – 12 pm

Venue: University of Technology, Sydney (Library)

  • Friday 17 July 2015

Time: 10:30 am – 12 pm

Venue: Macquarie Room, State Library of New South Wales

  • Friday 13 November 2015

Time: 10:30 am – 12 pm

Venue: Macquarie Room, State Library of New South Wales

NSW Resource Sharing Interest Group

Sharon Nicol (Convenor)

Librarian, University of Newcastle Library

Phone: (02) 4921 7147

Email: sharon.nicol@newcastle.edu.au


Jane Barton (Secretary)

Coordinator Shared Client Services, University of Sydney Library

Phone: (02) 9351 7188

Email: jane.barton@sydney.edu.au

2015 meetings:

  • TBC

 

NT User Group

Marilyn Hawthorne (Convenor)

Assistant Director, Northern Territory Library

Phone: (08) 8922 0758

Email: marilyn.hawthorne@nt.gov.au

2015 meetings:

  • TBC

 

QLD User Group (QULAG)

Margery Barnes (Convenor)

Coordinator, Interlibrary Loans Unit, Australian Catholic University

Phone: (07) 3623 7407

Email: Margery.Barnes@acu.edu.au

Deborah Smith (Secretary)

Document Delivery Supervisor, Queensland University of Technology

Phone: (07) 3138 3564

Email: d3.smith@qut.edu.au

2015 meetings :

  • TBC

 

SA User Group (LASA)

Chris Kennedy (Convenor)

Co-ordinator Public Library Support, Public Library Services, South Australia

Phone: (08) 8348 2347

Email: chris.kennedy@sa.gov.au

Chris Swadling (Secretary)

Cataloguing Team Leader, ALS Library Services Pty Ltd, SA

Phone: (08) 8276 5500

Email: chris.swadling@alslib.com.au

2015 meetings:

  • TBC

 

TAS User Group (TLAUG)

Carmel Denholm (Convenor)

Senior Cataloguer (Metadata), Systems Support & Development,  LINC Tasmania

Phone: (03) 6165 5527

Email: carmeldenholm@education.tas.gov.au

2015 meetings:

  • TBC

 

VIC User Groups

General User Group (VIC LAUG)

Richard McCart (Convenor)

Information Systems Librarian, Library Resources & Access, RMIT University Library

Phone: (03) 9925 2064

Email: richard.mccart@rmit.edu.au

Lamis Sukkar (Secretary)

Email: lamis.sukkar@caval.edu.au

2015 meetings:

  • TBC

 

Cataloguing Special Interest Group (VIC CATSIG)

Lyn Wade (Convenor)

Victoria University

Phone: (03) 9919 2412

Email: lyn.wade@vu.edu.au

2015 meetings:

  • TBC

 

LADD Special Interest Group

Pauline Middleton (Convenor)

Monash University

Phone: (03) 9905 4800

Email: Pauline.Middleton@monash.edu

2015 meetings:

  • TBC

 

WA User Group

There is no current user group for WA