Libraries Australia: The Summer Sessions - FREE webinars - registrations now open for sessions #3 and #4

Dear Colleagues

Brought to you as part of your Libraries Australia subscription, The Summer Sessions are a wonderful opportunity for metadata and resource sharing professionals to keep abreast of developments in the global environment

Over 250 people have collectively participated in our first two sessions on “Improving Visibility of Libraries on the Web” and “Creating Linked Open Library Data”, and we encourage members across the country to continue to take advantage of these free webinars for Libraries Australia members.

 

Registrations are now open for:

Session #3

An update on the British Library’s On Demand Service

Samantha Tillet: Head of Business Development, Information Services (The British Library)

REGISTER NOW

Thursday 12 January 2017

2.00 pm AWST (Perth), 3.30pm ACST (Darwin), 4.00pm AEST (Brisbane), 4.30 pm ACDT (Adelaide), 5.00 pm AEDT (Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney, Hobart)

In July 2016 the British Library launched ‘British Library On Demand’ their new and improved document supply service. Samantha Tillett will outline the changing landscape that brought the British Library to transform one of their flagship services to create an on-demand service for a demanding world.  Samantha will share the British Library’s strategies for continuing to respond to the information needs of the community – highlighting the Higher Education Scanning Service - and the Library’s approach to bring rights and content together.”

 

Session #4

Rethinking Resource Sharing around the World

Margaret Ellingson, Poul Eriandsen, Sue Kaler, Beth Posner: Rethinking Resource Sharing Initiative – Steering Committee

REGISTER NOW

Monday 23 January 2017

9.00 am AWST (Perth), 10.30 am ACST (Darwin), 11.00 am AEST (Brisbane), 11.30 am ACDT (Adelaide), 12.00 Noon AEDT (Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney, Hobart)

This presentation discusses the Rethinking Resource Sharing Manifesto, the recently revised STAR Checklist and considers their impact internationally.  The emphasis is on resource sharing challenges and practical solutions from a global perspective.”

Stay tuned for the Practitioners series for data management practitioners coming in February 2017!

If you have not already completed your survey for the second session: “Making Connections – Creating Linked Open Data” presented by Neil Wilson (Head, Collection Matadata – The British Library), there is still time to do so here.

Libraries Australia team is happy to work with anyone who would like to test their technical connection for future webinars. We want to ensure everyone can continue to participate in The Summer Sessions.  Please contact the Libraries Australia Help Desk if you would like to arrange testing prior to the next webinar.

We hope that you will be able to join us over the Summer!

Regards

Nikki Darby
Assistant Director, Libraries Australia Member Services
National Collections Access Division
National Library of Australia

 

This entry was posted in Forum. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.