Friends work together to encourage public and private support for the Library and its great collections and resources.

A committee of 16 members advise the Friends of the Library. The committee members range in background and experience and are all members of the Friends.

The committee is elected at the Annual General Meeting held by 30 November each year. Nominations are called for at least a month in advance. For more information, please refer to the Friend's corporate documents.

The 2020 Friends Committee are:

Howard Murray (Chair)
Kerry Blackburn (Deputy Chair & Newsletter Editor)
Grahame Thom (Treasurer)
Meredith Hinchliffe
Diane Bell
Margo Geering
Colleen Kinnane
Janice Taylor
Vivien Arnold
Larissa Karpish
Margaret Goode
Larissa Karpish
Marie-Louise Ayres (Director-General, NLA)
Helen Wade (NLA representative)
Kathryn Favelle (NLA representative)
Melanie Olde (Executive Officer)