Thank you.

Your support makes a real difference.

In recent years, philanthropic support from our generous donors, Patrons and gallery visitors has helped us to:

  • fund the digitisation of Library treasures as diverse as performing arts scrapbooks, materials on the history of women's suffrage, and early Australian advertising posters
  • fund the preservation of vulnerable material including medieval European manuscripts, Chinese pith paper paintings, and Joan Blaeu's 1663 Map of New Holland
  • offer a range of Fellowships and Scholarships, allowing researchers, writers and artists, and younger scholars the opportunity to take a deep dive into the Library's collections
  • share the riches of the Library’s collections through our Treasures Gallery
  • maintain Trove, the Library’s free online discovery portal, linking to online resources including over 26 million pages of digitised newspaper text
  • offer a range of exhibitions, public events and talks, from our annual lectures to our landmark exhibition on Cook and the Pacific.

We can do even more in the years to come.

The National Library of Australia gratefully acknowledges the generosity of all National Library of Australia Patrons, donors and legacy supporters. Listed below are Bronze Patrons and above, and Founding Patrons, who have given to the fund since its inception in 2009.

*Denotes Patrons who donated in 2019-20.

Principal Patrons

Ms Jane Hemstritch*
Stokes Family
Mr Kerry Stokes AC and Ms Christine Simpson Stokes AM
Mr Ryan Kerry Stokes and Mrs Claire Stokes
Vincent Fairfax Family Foundation

Platinum Patrons 

Ms Juliana Smeaton Edwards*
Friends of the National Library of Australia Inc.*
Dr Michael Kassler and Dr Jamie Kassler
Mrs Pat McCann
Ms Simone Vinall

Gold Patrons

Associate Professor Noel Dan AM and Mrs Adrienne Dan
Dick and Pip Smith Foundation*
Kenyon Foundation*
Macquarie Group Foundation Limited
Mr Robert Maynard*
Mr Kevin McCann AO and Mrs Deidre McCann*
Minerals Council of Australia*
The Myer Foundation*
Planet Wheeler Foundation
The late Mrs Alison Sanchez
Ms Anne-Marie Schwirtlich AM FAHA and Mr Stephen Yorke
Dr John Seymour and Mrs Heather Seymour AO*
Thyne Reid Foundation
One supporter donated anonymously.

Silver Patrons

Professor Kent Anderson*
Australian Jewish Historical Society*
Mr Jim Bain AM and Mrs Janette Bain
Dr Diana J. Carroll*
Dr R.L. Cope PSM*
The late Mr Victor Crittenden OAM
Mr Christopher Edye in honour of George Henry Bruce*
Ms Catherine Hope Gordon
Gordon Darling Foundation*
Dr Ron Houghton DFC and the late Mrs Nanette Houghton*
Professor Joyce Kirk and Dr Terry Kirk*
Mr David Lesnie*
The late Ms Marjorie Lindenmayer
The Linnaeus Estate
Lovell Chen Pty Ltd*
The MacLeod Family Trust
Dr Thomas Mautner*
Mr Simon Moore
Mrs Glennis Moss and the late Dr Kenneth Moss AM
Origin Foundation
Mrs Patricia Peck and the late Mr Nigel Peck AM
The Pratt Foundation*
Mrs Margaret Ross AM and Dr Ian Ross*
Emeritus Professor Dr Robert Shanks and Ms Josephine Shanks*
Mr Doug Snedden and Ms Belinda Snedden*
In memory of the late Ms Della Keren Thomas
Associate Professor Linnett Turner and Associate Professor David Turner*
Wesfarmers Limited
Mr Geoffrey White OAM and Mrs Sally White OAM*
Three supporters donated anonymously.

Bronze Patrons

Dr Marion Amies*
Dr Marie-Louise Ayres and Dr Russell Ayres*
The Besen Family Foundation*
Mrs Eva Besen AO and Mr Marc Besen AC
Mrs Alison J. Bloomfield
The Hon Justice Thomas Bradley QC
Dr Desmond Bright and Dr Ruth Bright AM
Ms Kristal Claasz
In memory of the late Mrs Mavis Thorpe Clark*
Dr Patricia Clarke OAM FAHA*
Mr John Collins*
Ms Christine Courtenay AM and the late Mr Bryce Courtenay AM
The Lord Ebury and the late Lady Ebury*
Dr N. F. Exon and Mrs D. F. Exon*
Mr John Fairfax AO and Mrs Libby Fairfax*
Mr Tim Fairfax AC
Mr James Ferguson
The Hon. Martin Ferguson AM*
The late Lieutenant Colonel (Ret'd) M. A. Fletcher JP
Sir James Gobbo AC, CVO
Mrs Claudia Hyles OAM*
Liberty Financial
Mr Brian Long and Ms Cathy Long
The Hon Dr Brett Mason*
Mrs Janet McDonald AO and Mr Donald McDonald AC
Mr Bruce Miller*
Miss Carol Moya Mills*
Mr Baillieu Myer AC and Mrs Sarah Myer
Mrs Maria Myers AC
National Union of Australian University Students (NUAUS) and Australian Union of Students (AUS) Alumni*
Professor Colin Nettelbeck FAHA and Mrs Carol Nettelbeck*
Mr John Oliver and Mrs Libby Oliver*
Ms Meg Paul
Dr Fiona Powell
Ms Dianne Redwood and Mr Denis Foot*
Professor Janice Reid AC, FASSA
Mrs Diana Ritch and Mr Jack Ritch*
Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO and Mrs Gwenda Robson*
Ms Kay Rodda*
Mr Robin V.F. Smith
The Hon Mr James Spigelman AC
Mr Howard Tanner AM*
Ms Deborah Thomas
Ms Patricia Waller
Wong Family*
Three supporters donated anonymously.

Founding Patrons

Dr Marion Amies*
Mrs Phoebe Bischoff OAM
Mrs Josephine Calaby
Dr R.L. Cope PSM*
The late Mr Victor Crittenden OAM
The late Ms Lauraine Diggins OAM
The late Lady Ebury
Mr Andrew Freeman FACS*
Ms J. L. Fullerton AO*
Griffith 8 Book Group
Mrs Claudia Hyles OAM*
Professor Joyce Kirk and Dr Terry Kirk*
Dr Jan Lyall PSM
Mrs Vacharin McFadden and Mr Robert McFadden
Mr Peter McGovern AM*
Mrs Glennis Moss and the late Dr Kenneth Moss AM
Mr John Oliver and Mrs Libby Oliver*
Mrs P. P. Pickering
Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO and Mrs Gwenda Robson*
Ms Kay Rodda*
Rotru Investments Pty Ltd for Mrs Eve Mahlab AO and Mr Frank Mahlab*
Mrs Angela Thorn and the late Mr Bill Thorn
Mr John Ulm and Mrs Valda Ulm
Ms Lucille Warth
Three supporters donated anonymously.

Collection Donors

The National Library thanks the many generous individuals and organisations who have contributed material to the Library’s collection.