User Groups

User Groups (also known as ‘LAUGs’) are groups of Libraries Australia users who attend meetings to share workflow advice and discuss issues about Libraries Australia and other issues which impact on the library community.

There are User Groups in every state and territory, some of which have sub-groups (or ‘special interest groups’) for cataloguing and/or document delivery.

The User Group meetings are fantastic opportunities for members across all library sectors to meet, both formally and informally, and are especially worthwhile for those who work in very small organisations.

Find out about the User Group/s (i.e. convenors, secretaries and meeting information) in your state or territory by clicking on the relevant link: ACT - NSW - NT - QLD - SA - TAS - VIC - WA

 

Libraries Australia User Group Visits

July-August 2016

 

ACT User Groups

General User Group (ACT LAUG)

Helen Flemming (Convenor)

Office of Parliamentary Counsel Library

Email: helen.fleming@opc.gov.au

Kathleen Cobcroft (Secretary)

University of Canberra Library

Email: Kath.Cobcroft@canberra.edu.au

2017 meetings:

  • 15 February 2017
    Venue: National Library of Australia.
    Time: 9.30am - 11am
  • 17 May 2017
    Venue: CIT Reid, E Block
    Time: 9.30am - 11am
  • 16 August 2017
    Venue: TBC
    Time: TBC
  • 15 November – AIATSIS hosting
    Venue: AIATSIS
    Time: TBC

 

LADD Special Interest Group

Lesley Caelli (Convenor)

Document Services Coordinator & Liaison Support Librarian (Health), Client Services - Library, Teaching and Learning, University of Canberra

Phone: +61 (0) 2 6201 5459

Email: lesley.caelli@canberra.edu.au

2017 meetings:

  • 1 March 2017
  • 7 June 2017
  • 6 September 2017
  • 6 December 2017

Venue: Meeting room 1, 4th Floor, National Library of Australia

Time: Meetings begin at 9.30am.

NSW User Groups

General User Group (NSW LAUG, including Cataloguing Special Interest Group CATSIG)

Robert Deininger (Convenor)

Data Quality & Training Specialist Librarian

Data Quality, Systems & Standards, Library Services, State Library of NSW

Phone: (02) 9273 1695

Email: robert.deininger@sl.nsw.gov.au

Rosie Olk (Secretary)

CAD Mixed Formats Team, Library Services, State Library of New South Wales.

Phone: (02) 9273 1739

Email: rosemarie.olk@sl.nsw.gov.au

2017 meetings

  • Friday March  24
    Venue: Macquarie Room, State Library of NSW
    Time: 10.30am - 12pm
  • Friday July 21
    Venue: Unaipon Room, State Library of NSW
    Time: 10.30am - 12pm
  • Friday November 10
    Venue: Macquarie Room, State Library of NSW
    Time: 10.30am - 12pm

 

NSW Resource Sharing Interest Group

Sharon Nicol (Convenor)

Librarian, University of Newcastle Library

Phone: (02) 4921 7147

Email: sharon.nicol@newcastle.edu.au


Jane Barton (Secretary)

Coordinator Shared Client Services, University of Sydney Library

Phone: (02) 9351 7188

Email: jane.barton@sydney.edu.au

2017 meetings:

  • to be advised

NT User Group

Marilyn Hawthorne (Convenor)

Assistant Director, Northern Territory Library

Phone: (08) 8922 0758

Email: marilyn.hawthorne@nt.gov.au

2017 meetings:

  • to be advised

QLD User Group (QULAG)

Jackie Thomsen (Convenor)

Library Technician | ERG Representative | Library Services | Business Management Information Technology Branch | Department of Transport and Main Roads

Phone: (07) 3066 8376

Email: jaclyn.l.thomsen@tmr.qld.gov.au

June Temby (Secretary)

Librarian Sugar Research Australia

Phone: (07) 3331 3330

Email: jtemby@sugarresearch.com.au

2017 meetings :

  • to be advised

SA User Group (LASA)

Chris Kennedy (Convenor)

Co-ordinator Public Library Support, Public Library Services, South Australia

Phone: (08) 8348 2347

Email: chris.kennedy@sa.gov.au

Chris Swadling (Secretary)

Cataloguing Team Leader, ALS Library Services Pty Ltd, SA

Phone: (08) 8276 5500

Email: chris.swadling@alslib.com.au

2017 meetings:

  • Wednesday, 10 May 2017

Time: 3pm

Venue: Public Library Service Office, Meeting room 1 & 2, State Library Building, North Terrace, Adelaide

TAS User Group (TLAUG)

Tara Cuthbert (Convenor)

Librarian, Resources and Access, LINC Tasmania

Phone: (03) 6165 5578

Email: tara.cuthbert@education.tas.gov.au

Emma Savage (Secretary)

Library Technician, Resources and Access, LINC Tasmania

Email: Emma.Savage@education.tas.gov.au

2017 meetings:

  • to be advised

 

VIC User Groups

General User Group (VIC LAUG)

Richard McCart (Convenor)

Information Systems Librarian, Library Resources & Access, RMIT University Library

Phone: (03) 9925 2064

Email: richard.mccart@rmit.edu.au

Lamis Sukkar (Secretary)

Email: lamis.sukkar@caval.edu.au

2017 meetings:

  • to be advised

 

Cataloguing Special Interest Group (VIC CATSIG)

Lyn Wade (Convenor)

Victoria University

Phone: (03) 9919 2412

Email: lyn.wade@vu.edu.au

2017 meetings:

  • to be advised

 

LADD Special Interest Group

Pauline Middleton (Convenor)

Monash University

Phone: (03) 9905 4800

Email: Pauline.Middleton@monash.edu

2017 meetings:

  • to be advised

Time: 10.00 am

Venue: Deakin University – Melbourne City Centre located on the 3rd Floor of the Deloitte Building, 550 Burke Street.

 

WA User Group

There is no current user group for WA