2020 Fellowship Applications Open
Professor Elaine Hobby, nla.obj-888239572


Researchers are invited to apply for the 2020 National Library of Australia Fellowships program, which opens today until 30 April 2019.

The Fellowships program offers researchers an opportunity to undertake a three month residency at the National Library of Australia. Fellows will have access to the Library’s collections and expert staff, a supportive working environment, and financial assistance. They will become part of the Library’s community of staff and scholars, including an alumni group of 150 eminent Harold White and National Library Fellows.

Director-General of the National Library, Dr Marie-Louise Ayres, encourages researchers with exceptional projects inspired by the Library’s collections to apply.

‘Our Fellows will enjoy access to the Library’s world class collection of books, manuscripts, photographs, oral histories, music, maps and countless other treasures.’

‘The Fellowships program is made possible thanks to the generosity of donors. We are thrilled to offer three fellowships supported by the Stokes Family, whose generous gift of $1 million last year will support the program over the next decade. Another significant gift, in memory of former staff member Averill Edwards, adds to the support provided by the Minerals Council of Australia, Patrons and Supporters of the Library’s Treasures Gallery Access Program, the Harold S Williams Trust, and the Ray Mathew and Eva Kollsman Trust.’

The Program offers four Fellowships for research on any subject and five funded Fellowships for specific areas of research: Japan Studies, Research in Australian Literature, Curatorial Research, and study into topics relating to the Minerals Council of Australia’s interests and activities.

Applications will be assessed on merit and some honorary fellowships may also be awarded.

More information and the online application form are available at:


Contact details

Media Contact
Anna Gressier | T: 02 6262 1490 | M: 0401 226 697 | E: agressier@nla.gov.au