The new nation needed a new capital and after much debate and competition the site this was decided upon.  In 1908 the Commonwealth Parliament passed the Seat of Government Act 1908, designating the Yass-Queanbeyan area for Australia's Capital Territory.  In 1911 the new Federal Capital Territory on the Limestone Plans came under Commonwealth control.  In 1913 the name of the new capital was declared to be Canberra and the first sod was turned.

The Library holds a wide collection of material in different formats relating to the creation and development of the new seat of government.

Printed works

A selection of the many printed works on the history of Canberra includes:

In our Reference collection

You can find the following useful resources in our Main Reading Room.  No call slip is required.