

# Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

Online, Tuesday 10 November 2022, 5.30pm

# 1. Welcome & Apologies

#### **Attendees**

### Friends Members:

**Marion Amies** Catherine Anderson Kerry Blackburn Kay Blue Sandy Clugston Peter Boege Diana Dack Anne Davis Ken Douglas Karen Downing Alan Duff **Rosemary Everett** Meredith Hinchliffe Sue Gage Kate Gordon Peggy Horn Joe Johnson Larissa Karpish Irene Kaspar Amanda Lynch Margaret May

Roberta McRae Elizabeth Nelson Margaret Nichols, Chairperson Jo Schumann, Treasurer

Nina Pangahas Pamela Rutland

Michalina Stawyskyj Peter Taft Grahame Thom

Jean Stewart

### **Library Staff:**

Lauren Conron Ben Pratten Belinda Jessup

**Loris Gulliver** Stuart Baines Grace Blakeley-Carroll

### Apologies:

Joan Adler Marie-Louise Ayres Sonja Barfoed Margy Burn Helen Catchatoor Nancy Clarke Patricia Clarke Lynne Curran Elizabeth Morrison **Ingrid Moses** John Moses Robyn Oates Mary Pollard Gary Kent, Deputy Chair Kevin White

Chair Margaret Nichols opened the meeting with an Acknowledgment of Country; welcomed members and noted the apologies.

### 2. Acceptance of the Previous Minutes

The previous minutes were circulated with the meeting papers and were found to be an accurate record of the 2021 AGM.

Moved to accept: Peggy Horn

Seconded: Sue Gage



# 3. Chair's Report

Margaret Nichols provided an overview of the 12 Friends events held so far this year, a mixture of in house, hybrid and online only formats. The White Gloves: Irish Echoes event was particularly well attended and ran smoothly due to the efforts of Library staff, for which the Friends are grateful.

Margaret noted that membership is still in decline, however the Committee's membership working group continues work to rectify the situation. Margaret thanked members who have steadfastly retained their membership.

Margaret thanked all the 2022 Committee members and noted outgoing members Jo Schumann, Ken Douglas, Karin Oldfield, Larissa Karpish and Nivi Nair, whose contributions and commitment are much appreciated. A vote of thanks was also given for Library staff for their support of the Friends - Lauren Conron, Belinda Jessup, Ben Pratten, Stuart Baines, Helen Wade, Luke Hickey and Director-General Dr Marie-Louise Ayres.

Motion to accept the Chair's Report: Meredith Hinchliffe

Seconded: Sue Gage

### 4. Financial Report

The audited financial statements for 2021-22 were circulated with the meeting papers. Treasurer Jo Schumann presented the financial report, noting the continued negative impact of the pandemic on membership income. The allocation of membership income in advance (and the impact of membership extensions provided during lockdown) has resulted in a small surplus of \$708. The surplus resulted from a total income of \$62,614, compared with \$77,233 in the previous year; and total expenses for the year of \$61,906, compared with \$68,457 in the previous year.

The overall financial position of the organisation remains healthy with cash reserves at \$161,880, similar to last year's result. This complies with the Friends cash reserves policy that reserves not be less than \$100,000.

The Committee at its last meeting discussed the priorities of increasing new memberships and working with the Library on investment/financial support for new library projects such as digitisation or acquisition, to reduce cash reserves.

Jo recommended that the financial statements for the Friends in 2022 be approved.

Moved: Larissa Karpish Seconded: Margaret Nichols

#### 5. Fellowships

Margaret advised that an announcement will be forthcoming on the Staff Travelling Fellowship, however we are able to announce the 2022 Creative Arts Fellow – Sam Wallman. Sam is a comic journalist whose work will focus on the Green and Pink Bans by unionised workers in the 1970s. Sam sent a thank you video which was played to the audience.



### 6. Presentation of the Friends Medal

This year marks the 16th year in which the Friends medal has been awarded to recognise the significant contribution to the work of the Library by Friends members or Library staff or volunteers. Margaret announced that this year's Friends Medal recipient is Kerry Blackburn, recognised for her significant contributions to the Committee and as a Library volunteer for over 10 years.

Kerry accepted the award and thanked the Committee members, Library staff and volunteers.

#### 7. Other Business

No other business was raised.

### 8. Election of the Friends Committee for 2023

All nominees have been confirmed as financial members of the Friends and have submitted the required documentation in support of their nomination. The nominees are Nancy Clarke, Sue Gage, Dr Peggy Horne, Gary Kent, Margaret Nichols and Kerry Blackburn. The Committee was unanimously elected.

The Chair noted that members will be co-opted to the Committee in accordance with the Rules of Association. Margaret congratulated the successful nominees for the 2023 Committee and closed the meeting, with no further business to discuss.

Meeting closed at 6.00pm.