The National Library of Australia offers annual summer scholarships to support younger postgraduate students undertaking research based on the Library’s collections. These scholarships are made possible through the generosity of the family of the late Norman McCann (a former National Library Council Member), and of John and Heather Seymour. 

The National Library is pleased to announce that the 2016 Summer Scholars are:

  • Meg Brayshaw from Western Sydney University
    Watery Bodies: water as matter and meaning in Christina Stead's Seven Poor Men of Sydney
  • Talisha Goh from Edith Cowan University
    Three Australian women composers on the world stage: the early works and careers of Ros Bandt, Liza Lim and Kate Moore
  • Gretel Evans from the University of Melbourne
    The scattered memory of disaster: fires and floods in Australia
  • Morgan Burgess from the University of New South Wales, Canberra
    The literary campaign for women’s suffrage in Australian newspapers and magazines

The Summer Scholars will commence their time at the National Library on 11 January 2016.