Enjoy a CovidSafe visit to the National Library. Read more

Summer opening hours

Summer opening hours
8 December 2020

Summer opening hours

Our summer opening hours will be in place from Thursday 24 December 2020 until Sunday 3 January 2021.

The Library will close at 5pm on Christmas Eve, Thursday 24 December.

Opening hours Main Reading Room Special Collections Reading Room Exhibition Galleries and National Library Bookshop Bookplate
Friday 25 December 2020, Christmas Day Closed Closed Closed Closed
Saturday 26 December to Thursday 31 December 2020 Closed Closed 9am–5pm 9am–3pm
Friday 1 January 2021 Closed Closed 9am–5pm 9am–3pm
Saturday 2 January 2021 10am–5pm 10am–5pm 9am–5pm 9am–3pm
Sunday 3 January 2021 1:30–5pm Closed 9am–5pm 9am–3pm

The exhibition galleries are open from 9am to 5pm every day except for Christmas Day. Visit and explore Australian buildings in our photography exhibition Australian Dreams, take a flight of fancy with the beautifully illustrated Birds of Paradise and discover some highlights from the collection in the latest update to the Treasures Gallery.

On Monday 4 January 2021 the opening times will be as follows:

  • Library building will open at 8:30am
  • Bookplate, the National Library of Australia Bookshop and the galleries will open at 9am
  • The Main Reading Room and Special Collections Reading Room will open at 10am.  

Please review our regular opening hours page and updated COVID-19 news page for more information.

Paperplate is closed until February 2021.

Collection deliveries to reading rooms

Collection deliveries will cease at 3.45pm on Christmas Eve, Thursday 24 December 2020.

Requests made on or after Friday 18 December 2020 will be kept on the reading room reserve shelves until close of business on Sunday 10 January 2021.

Collection deliveries resume on Monday 4 January 2021.

More from the Library