Summer Opening Hours

Our opening hours over the Christmas and New Year period will be in place from Monday 16 December 2019 until Sunday 5 January 2020. Regular opening hours resume on Monday 6 January 2020.

Opening hours

Main Reading Room and Special Collections Reading Room

Asian Collections Reading Room Galleries Bookplate café Bookshop
Monday 16 – Thursday 19 December  10am – 8pm 10am – 5pm 9am – 5pm 7:30am – 5pm 9am – 5pm
Friday 20 December  10am – 5pm 10am – 5pm 9am – 5pm 7:30am – 4pm 9am – 5pm
Saturday 21 December 10am – 5pm Closed 9am – 5pm 9am – 4pm 9am – 5pm
Sunday 22 December 1.30pm – 5pm (MRR only) Closed 9am – 5pm 9am – 4pm 9am – 5pm
Monday 23 December 10am-8pm 10am – 5pm 9am – 5pm 7:30am – 4pm 9am – 5pm
Tuesday 24 December 10am – 5pm 10am – 5pm 9am – 5pm 7:30am – 4pm 9am – 5pm
Wednesday 25 December Closed Closed Closed Closed Closed
Thursday 26  – Tuesday 31 December Closed Closed 9am – 5pm 9am – 4pm 9am – 5pm
Wednesday 1 January Closed Closed 10am – 5pm 10am – 3pm 9am – 5pm
Thursday 2 – Sunday 5 January Regular opening hours Regular opening hours Regular opening hours 9am – 4pm 9am – 5pm

Collection deliveries to reading rooms

Any requests made on or after Wednesday 18 December 2019 will be kept on the reading room reserve shelves up to and including Wednesday 8 January 2020.

Collection deliveries will cease at 3:45pm on Tuesday 24 December 2019 and will resume on Thursday 2 January 2020.

Paperplate café

Paperplate café will close at 3pm on Friday 13 December 2019 and reopen at 8.30am on Monday 6 January 2020.

Regular opening hours 

Main Reading Room

Day Opening hours
Monday to Thursday 10am to 8pm
Friday to Saturday* 10am to 5pm
Sunday* 1.30pm to 5pm
Public holidays Closed

* No collection deliveries on weekends

Special Collections and Petherick Reading Room

Day Opening hours
Monday to Thursday 10am to 8pm
Friday to Saturday* 10am to 5pm
Sunday and public holidays Closed

* No collection deliveries on Saturday

Asian Collections Reading Room

Day Opening hours
Monday to Friday 10am to 5pm
Weekends and public holidays Closed

Treasures Gallery and Exhibition Gallery

Day Opening hours
Daily 9am to 5pm
Good Friday Closed
Christmas Day Closed

Bookshop

Day Opening hours
Daily 9am to 5pm
Good Friday Closed
Christmas Day Closed
 

Cafes

bookplate

Day Opening hours
Monday to Thursday 7.30am to 5pm
Friday 7.30am to 4pm
Saturday and Sunday 9am to 4pm

paperplate

Day Opening hours
Monday to Friday 8.30am to 3pm
Weekends and public holidays Closed

Public holidays

The Library is closed on Good Friday and Christmas Day. Opening hours for all other public holidays are:

Location Opening hours
Reading Rooms Closed
Treasures Gallery and Exhibitions Gallery 9am to 5pm
Bookshop 9am to 5pm
bookplate 10am to 3pm
paperplate Closed

 

Public holidays 2019

  • Monday 11 March 2019 - Canberra Day
  • Friday 19 April 2019 - Good Friday
  • Saturday 20 April 2019 - Easter Saturday
  • Sunday 21 April 2019 - Easter Sunday
  • Monday 22 April 2019 - Easter Monday
  • Thursday 25 April 2019 - ANZAC Day
  • Monday 27 May 2019 - Reconciliation Day
  • Monday 10 June 2019 - Queen's Birthday
  • Monday 7 October 2019 - Labour Day
  • Wednesday 25 December 2019 - Christmas Day
  • Thursday 26 December 2019 - Boxing Day