Regular opening hours 

Please check our COVID-Safe visit information before you visit us at the Library.

Collection delivery times

Note: Collection delivery cut-offs vary during the week and do not align with opening hours. There are no collection deliveries on weekends. Please check our collection delivery times before you visit. You can also log in to your account with your Library card to request items before you visit so that they are ready on your arrival.

Main Reading Room

DayOpening hours
Monday to Thursday10am to 8pm
Friday and Saturday10am to 5pm
Sunday1.30pm to 5pm
Public holidaysClosed

Special Collections and Petherick Reading Room

DayOpening hours
Monday to Thursday10am to 8pm
Friday and Saturday10am to 5pm
SundayClosed
Public holidaysClosed

Treasures Gallery and Exhibition Gallery

DayOpening hours
Daily9am to 5pm
Good FridayClosed
Christmas DayClosed

Bookshop

DayOpening hours
Daily9am to 5pm
Good FridayClosed
Christmas DayClosed
 

Cafes

Bookplate

DayOpening hours
Monday to Friday8.30am to 3.30pm
Weekends and public holidays9am to 3pm

Paperplate

DayOpening hours
Monday to Friday8.30am to 2pm
Weekends and public holidaysClosed

 

Public holidays

The Library is closed on Good Friday and Christmas Day. Opening hours for all other public holidays are:

LocationOpening hours
Reading roomsClosed
Treasures Gallery and Exhibitions Gallery9am to 5pm
Bookshop9am to 5pm
Bookplate cafe9am to 3pm
Paperplate cafeClosed

Public holidays 2021

Note: Public Holidays as observed in the Australian Capital Territory. When a public holiday falls on a weekend a subsequent or additional date may be observed.

Public HolidayDates to be observed
New Year’s Day Friday 1 January 2021
Australia Day Tuesday 26 January 2021
Canberra Day Monday 8 March 2021
Good Friday Friday 2 April 2021
Easter Saturday Saturday 3 April 2021
Easter SundaySunday 4 April 2021
Easter Monday Monday 5 April 2021
ANZAC Day Sunday 25 April 2021 and
Monday 26 April 2021
Reconciliation Day Monday 31 May 2021
Queen’s Birthday Monday 14 June 2021
Labour Day Monday 4 October 2021
Christmas Day Saturday 25 December 2021 and
Monday 27 December 2021
Boxing DaySunday 26 December 2021 and
Tuesday 28 December 2021