Main Reading Room

Day Opening hours
Monday to Thursday 10am to 8pm
Friday to Saturday* 10am to 5pm
Sunday* 1.30pm to 5pm
Public holidays Closed

* No collection deliveries on weekends

Special Collections and Petherick Reading Room

Day Opening hours
Monday to Thursday 10am to 8pm
Friday to Saturday* 10am to 5pm
Sunday and public holidays Closed

* No collection deliveries on Saturday

Asian Collections Reading Room

Day Opening hours
Monday to Friday 10am to 5pm
Weekends and public holidays Closed

Treasures Gallery and Exhibition Gallery

Day Opening hours
Daily 10am to 5pm
Good Friday Closed
Christmas Day Closed

Bookshop

Day Opening hours
Daily 9am to 5pm
Good Friday Closed
Christmas Day Closed

Cafés

bookplate

Day Opening hours
Monday to Thursday 7.30am to 5pm
Friday 7.30am to 4pm
Saturday and Sunday 9am to 4pm

paperplate

Day Opening hours
Monday to Friday 8.30am to 3pm
Weekends and public holidays Closed

Public holidays

The Library is closed on Good Friday and Christmas Day. Opening hours for all other public holidays are:

Location Opening hours
Reading Rooms Closed
Treasures Gallery and Exhibitions Gallery 10am to 5pm
Bookshop 9am to 5pm
bookplate café 10am to 3pm
paperplate café Closed

Public holidays 2017

  • Sunday 1 January 2017 - New Year's Day
  • Monday 2 January 2017 - Additional holiday for Sunday 1 January
  • Thursday 26 January 2017 - Australia Day
  • Monday 13 March 2017 - Canberra Day
  • Friday 14 April 2017 - Good Friday
  • Saturday 15 April 2017 - Easter Saturday
  • Sunday 16 April 2017 - Easter Sunday
  • Monday 17 April 2017 - Easter Monday
  • Tuesday 25 April 2017 - Anzac Day
  • Monday 12 June 2017 - Queen's Birthday
  • Monday 25 September 2017 - Family and Community Day
  • Monday 2 October 2017 - Labour Day
  • Monday 25 December 2017 - Christmas Day
  • Tuesday 26 December 2017 - Boxing Day