Regular opening hours 

The National Library of Australia building opens at 8.30am on weekdays and 9am on weekends. The building closes at 8pm Monday to Thursday and at 5pm on Fridays, weekends and public holidays. The opening hours of Bookplate, the bookshop, the exhibition galleries and the reading rooms vary and are listed below.

Please note that there are no collection deliveries during evenings or on weekends and that delivery times vary throughout the week. Check delivery times before you visit.

Reading rooms

Day Opening hours
Monday to Thursday 10am to 8pm
Friday and Saturday* 10am to 5pm
Sunday* 1.30pm to 5pm
Special Collections and Petherick reading rooms are closed on Sundays
Public holidays Closed

*Collection requests are not delivered on weekends. Check collection delivery times to make the most of your visit.

Treasures Gallery and Exhibition Gallery

Day Opening hours
Daily 9am to 5pm
Good Friday Closed
Christmas Day Closed

Bookshop

Day Opening hours
Daily 9am to 5pm
Good Friday Closed
Christmas Day Closed

Cafes

Bookplate

Day Opening hours
Monday to Friday 8:30am to 3pm
Weekends 9am to 4pm
Public holidays 9am to 3pm

Paperplate

Day Opening hours
Monday to Friday Closed
Weekends and public holidays Closed

Public holidays

The Library is closed on Good Friday and Christmas Day. Opening hours for all other public holidays are:

Location Opening hours
Reading rooms Closed
Treasures Gallery and Exhibitions Gallery 9am to 5pm
Bookshop 9am to 5pm
Bookplate cafe 9am to 2pm
Paperplate cafe Closed

Public holidays 2022

Note: Public holidays as observed in the Australian Capital Territory. When a public holiday falls on a weekend a subsequent or additional date may be observed.

Public Holiday Dates to be observed
New Year’s Day  Saturday 1 January 2022 and Monday 3 January 2022
Australia Day  Wednesday 26 January 2022
Canberra Day  Monday 14 March 2022
Good Friday  Friday 15 April 2022
Easter Saturday  Saturday 16 April 2022
Easter Sunday Sunday 17 April 2022
Easter Monday  Monday 18 April 2022
ANZAC Day  Monday 25 April 2022
Reconciliation Day  Monday 30 May 2022
Queen’s Birthday  Monday 13 June 2022
Labour Day  Monday 3 October 2022
Christmas Day  Sunday 25 December 2022 and
Tuesday 27 December 2022
Boxing Day Monday 26 December 2022