Fellowships and scholarships

photo of Dr Catherine Kelly


The National Library of Australia offers a range of Fellowships and Scholarships for established and emerging researchers, practising writers and creative artists, and younger scholars.

The Library has a world-class collection and is a hub for research, intellectual and creative endeavour. The Fellowships and Scholarships stimulate sustained scholarly, literary and artistic use of the Library’s rich and varied collections and promote lively interaction within the Library’s community. These awards support in-depth access to the collections and to staff, and provide financial assistance and uninterrupted time for scholars, writers and artists to conduct a sustained period of research or creative development in a respected and supportive scholarly environment.

There are four categories of awards:

  • National Library of Australia Fellowships for advanced research by scholars.
    • Opening February, closing April 30, 2017.
  • Creative fellowships including Creative Arts Fellowships for practising artists and writers and the National Folk Fellowship.
    • Opening April, closing July 1, 2017.
  • Japan study grants to support use of the Asian collections.
    • Opening July, closing September 30, 2017.
  • Summer Scholarships for young researchers (under 30) undertaking PhD studies.
    • Opening July, closing September 30, 2017.

In 2015, the Library’s new program of Fellowships and Scholarships replaced the former Harold White Fellowships which supported over 150 research Fellows since 1983.  The Fellowships are now broader in scope, with increased levels of financial assistance, made possible by many generous donors.