Summer opening hours

Our summer opening hours will be in place from Monday 1 December 2014 until Sunday 4 January 2015 inclusive. Regular opening hours resume on Monday 5th January 2015.

Day Main and Petherick Reading Rooms Newspapers and Microforms Reading Rooms Maps, Pictures and Manuscripts and Asian Collections reading rooms
Monday 1 to Thursday 4 December 9 am to 7 pm 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5pm
Friday 5 December 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm
Saturday 6 December 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm Closed
Sunday 7 December 1:30 pm to 5 pm Closed Closed
Monday 8 to Thursday 11 December 9 am to 7 pm 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm
Friday 12 December 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm
Saturday 13 December 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm Closed
Sunday 14 December 1:30 pm to 5 pm Closed Closed
Monday 15 to Friday 19 December 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm
Saturday 20 December 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm Closed
Sunday 21 December 1:30 pm to 5 pm Closed Closed
Monday 22 to Wednesday 24 December 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm 9 am to 5 pm
Thursday 25 December to Sunday 4 January Closed Closed Closed

Book delivery to Main and Petherick Reading Rooms

  • 9 am to 5.00 pm when reading rooms close at 7 pm
  • 9 am to 3.45 pm when reading rooms close at 5 pm
  • No collection deliveries on weekends

Bookshop

Monday to Friday, 9 am to 5 pm
Weekends and public holidays, 10 am to 5 pm
Closed Christmas Day

Galleries

Daily, 10 am to 5 pm
Closed Christmas Day

Cafés

bookplate 

Monday to Thursday, 8.30 am to 6 pm
Friday, 8.30 am to 5 pm
Weekends and public holidays, 10 am to 5 pm
Closed Christmas Day

paperplate 

Monday to Friday, 8.30 am to 3 pm
Weekends and public holidays, closed
Closed from Saturday 20 December 2014 to Sunday 4 January 2015.

Regular opening hours

Main Reading Room

Monday to Thursday 10 am to 8 pm
Friday to Saturday* 10 am to 5 pm
Sunday* 1.30 pm to 5 pm
Public holidays Closed

* No collection deliveries on weekends

Special Collections and Petherick Reading Room

Monday to Thursday 10 am to 8 pm
Friday to Saturday* 10 am to 5 pm
Sunday and public holidays Closed

* No collection deliveries on Saturday

Newspapers and Microforms Reading Room

Monday to Saturday* 10 am to 5 pm
Sunday and public holidays Closed

* No collection deliveries on Saturday

Asian Collections Reading Room

Monday to Friday 10 am to 5 pm
Weekends and public holidays Closed

Treasures Gallery and Exhibitions Gallery

Daily 10 am to 5 pm
Christmas Day Closed

Bookshop

Daily 10 am to 5 pm
Christmas Day Closed

Cafés

bookplate

Monday to Thursday 8.30 am to 6 pm
Friday 8.30 am to 5 pm
Weekends and public holidays 10 am to 5 pm

paperplate

Monday to Friday 8.30 am to 3 pm
Weekends and public holidays Closed

Public holidays

The Library is closed on Good Friday and Christmas Day. Opening hours for all other public holidays are outlined below:

Reading Rooms Closed
Treasures Gallery and Exhibitions Gallery 10 am to 5 pm
Bookshop 10 am to 5 pm
bookplate café * 10 am to 5 pm
paperplate café Closed

* The bookplate café is also closed on Boxing Day

Public holidays

  • Christmas Day - Thursday 25 December
  • Boxing Day - Friday 26 December
  • New Year's Day - Thursday 1 January
  • Australia Day - Monday 26 January