Watch this space!  A renewed National Library of Australia Fellowship scheme will be announced shortly, opening for applications in March 2015.

The National Library of Australia offered annual fellowships to established researchers and writers. Established by the Council of the National Library of Australia in 1983 as the National Library Fellowships, the first Fellows commenced their research at the Library in 1984. The fellowships were renamed in honour of Sir Harold White CBE (1905-1992), the first National Librarian, in 1985.

The fellowships scheme aimed to promote the Library as a centre of scholarly activity and research, encouraged scholarly and literary use of the Library’s collections and production of publications arising from that scholarship, and promoted the Library’s rich and varied collections. Four to seven fellowships, of periods from three to six months, were awarded annually.

Harold White Fellowships and Japan Fellowships will not be offered by the National Library of Australia in 2014. It is hoped that, with the support of donors, the Library will again be able to offer these fellowships and continue the tradition of supporting sustained scholarship on its extraordinary collections. The Library’s Summer Scholarships, generously funded by donors Pat McCann and John and Heather Seymour, will continue to be offered.


Fellowships and scholarships