Two men shaking handsFairfax Corporation, Two men shaking hands in front of a schoolboy holding two trophies and another with three books at Sydney Boys' High School, Sydney, 28 December 1931, nla.obj-161791200  

How do you find Australian literature awards?

Start with the  Library Catalogue
  • select the Browse alphabetically tab
  • choose subjects from the drop-down list  
  • Type your keywords in the search bar
Selected works:

Where can you find information in our online databases?

AustLit: the resource for Australian literature is a key resource for information about Australian writers and writing. The latest awards news is given on the AustLit home page, and author information includes a list of awards given.

Who's Who in Australia. Here you can search for people, Australian Awards, such as the Miles Franklin Award or Premier's Awards, and occupations such as writer, author or novellist. Search results may include contact details for authors or their agents. 
You can find AustLit and Who's Who in Australia by visiting our eResources portal and searching for the databases under the Browse eResources tab. 

If you are a registered member of the National Library you can access both databases from home.

Case Study

The Nobel Prize

Is The Solid Mandala Patrick White's Nobel Prize Book?

1. We can look into the awards won by Patrick White, both the Nobel Prize in Literature and the other literature awards, using AustLit and internet searches.

2. Patrick White won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1973. This award isn't given for an individual book, but rather for an entire body of work created over a number of years. Information about the Nobel prize won by Patrick White can be found on the official Nobel Prize website. The site notes that the Nobel Prize was awarded to White 'for an epic and psychological narrative art which has introduced a new continent into literature'.

3. Other awards listed in AustLit for Patrick White include: 

5. According to Patrick White: letters by David Marr, The Solid Mandala was first published in 1966. It was short-listed for the 1967 Miles Franklin Literary award, until White personally intervened and withdrew it from consideration so that other writers might stand a chance of winning.